While it is most important to select books that your child enjoys to develop a love of reading, learning and libraries, the library system has plenty to offer that is appealing to both children and their teachers. Choosing books on the right level can help boost children's confidence and reading skills. Search for books by Lexile or Guided Reading levels here!*

If your nearest library doesn’t own the book(s), you can click “Place Hold,” and your local branch will alert you when your materials are ready!

All of the books featured on the webpage are in the library system’s children’s or teen collections. No more wondering whether your fourth grader with an exceptionally high Lexile measure is ready for “War and Peace!”

Guided Reading Level: Y

"Flawed Dogs,"
by Berkeley Breathed
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 920
Reading CountsPoints: 10
"The Fourth Stall, Part II,"
by Chris Rylander
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 830
Reading CountsPoints: 15
"Frogkisser!,"
by Garth Nix
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 840
Reading CountsPoints: 23
"Frostborn,"
by Lou Anders
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 660
Reading CountsPoints: 15
"Ghost,"
by Jason Reynolds
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 730
Reading CountsPoints: 11
"The Girl in the Well Is Me,"
by Karen Rivers
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 780
Reading CountsPoints: 11
"The Giver,"
by Lois Lowry
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 760
Awards: Newbery
Reading CountsPoints: 9
"The Glass Cafe,"
by Gary Paulsen
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 1500
Reading CountsPoints: 6
"Goliath,"
by Scott Westerfeld
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 790
Reading CountsPoints: 22
"Grounded,"
by Megan Morrison
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 680
Reading CountsPoints: 24
"The Hammer of Thor,"
by Rick Riordan
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 690
Reading CountsPoints: 26
"Harry Potter and the Cursed Child,"
by Jack Thorne
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 500
Reading CountsPoints: 10
"Hello, Universe,"
by Erin Kelly
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 690
Awards: Newbery
Reading CountsPoints: 12
"Hiding Edith,"
by Kathy Kacer
Guided Reading Level: Y
"Lady Friday,"
by Garth Nix
Guided Reading Level: Y
Reading CountsPoints: 16
"Liberia,"
by Ruth Bjorklund
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 1080
Reading CountsPoints: 7
"Loot,"
by Jude Watson
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 560
Reading CountsPoints: 15
"Making the Cut,"
by Margaret Gurevich
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 760
"Malaysia,"
by Michael Burgan
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 1050
Reading CountsPoints: 7
"A Monster Calls,"
by Patrick Ness
Guided Reading Level: Y
Lexile Level: 730
Reading CountsPoints: 9

Pages