While it is most important to select books that your child enjoys to develop a love of reading, learning and libraries, the library system has plenty to offer that is appealing to both children and their teachers. Choosing books on the right level can help boost children's confidence and reading skills. Search for books by Lexile or Guided Reading levels here!*

If your nearest library doesn’t own the book(s), you can click “Place Hold,” and your local branch will alert you when your materials are ready!

All of the books featured on the webpage are in the library system’s children’s or teen collections. No more wondering whether your fourth grader with an exceptionally high Lexile measure is ready for “War and Peace!”

Guided Reading Level: K

"The Adventure of the Dying Detective,"
by Vincent Goodwin
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 560
"The Adventures of Beekle,"
by Dan Santat
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 480
Awards: Caldecott
Reading CountsPoints: 1
"Africa Dream,"
by Eloise Greenfield
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 580
Awards: Coretta Scott King
Reading CountsPoints: 1
"Allosaurus,"
by Grace Hansen
Guided Reading Level: K
"Always Copycub,"
by Richard Edwards
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 510
Reading CountsPoints: 1
"Amelia Bedelia by the Yard,"
by Herman Parish
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 480
"Amelia Bedelia on the Move,"
by Herman Parish
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 490
"Amelia Bedelia Takes the Cake,"
by Herman Parish
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 490
Reading CountsPoints: 1
"And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street,"
by Dr. Seuss
Guided Reading Level: K
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Ankylosaurus,"
by Grace Hansen
Guided Reading Level: K
"Arf and the Greedy Grabber,"
by Philip Wooderson
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 560
"Arthur's Back to School Day,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 480
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Birthday Party,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 470
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Camp-Out,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 510
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Christmas Cookies,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 480
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Funny Money,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 490
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Great Big Valentine,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 410
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Honey Bear,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 510
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Loose Tooth,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 500
Reading CountsPoints: 2
"Arthur's Pen Pal,"
by Lillian Hoban
Guided Reading Level: K
Lexile Level: 530
Reading CountsPoints: 2

Pages