My Account   |   Español   |   Contact Us
All Palm Beach County Library System locations will be closed on Mon, Sep 01, for Labor Day. No materials will be due on this day.
 
Starting Wed, Aug 27, the Belle Glade Branch parking lot will be getting paved. At times, areas of the parking lot will be closed.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
 
The Great CoursesĀ® Documentaries: Great American Music - Broadway Musicals
Lantana Road Branch
Thu, Jan 09, 2:00 pm

Pt. 1 & 2: The Essence of the Musical and The Minstrel Era.

Thu, Jan 16, 2:00 pm

Pt. 3 & 4: Evolution of the Verse/Chorus Song and The Ragtime Years.

Thu, Jan 23, 2:00 pm

Pt. 5 & 6: The Vaudeville Era and Tin Pan Alley.

Thu, Jan 30, 2:00 pm

Pt. 7 & 8: Broadway in Its Infancy and The Revue versus the Book Musical.

Thu, Feb 06, 2:00 pm

Pt. 9 & 10: Superstars on the Horizon and Transition into the Jazz Age.

Thu, Feb 13, 2:00 pm

Pt. 11 & 12: Irving Berlin & Jerome Kern - Contrasts and George Gershwin's Legacy.

Thu, Feb 20, 2:00 pm

Pt. 13 & 14: Rodgers & Hammerstein Era and Golden Age of Musical Theater.

Thu, Feb 27, 2:00 pm

Pt. 15 & 16: Rock 'n' Roll Reaches Broadway and Big Bucks & Long Runs.

Explore the history of American musicals from the 1820s to the present. Sponsored by the Friends of the Library. (60 min.) Shown with permission. Not rated.
Preregister.